U of A Mens Golf Won First Of Season

The University of Arizona men’s golf team won their first event of the season in the Arizona Intercollegiate posting rounds of 277-277-281=835 (-17) under par, holding off California for a one stroke victory at Arizona National

Golf Club. In the event’s 32-year history, Arizona has won the Arizona Intercollegiate six times (88, 91, 96, 03, 04, and 12).

Arizona junior Juan Pablo Hernandez was runner-up in the individual medalist honors firing 69-66-71=206 (-7) under par. Also, in the top five was UA teammate and freshman Tucker Wadkins, who tied for third place shooting 70-69-69=208 (-5) under par.

Along with Hernandez and Wadkins, sophomores Chris Capo and Erik Oja finished in the top-10, both shooting 212 (-1) totals.

The victory marks the 72nd in Arizona program history, and 62 of those have come under head coach Rick LaRose. Also, the win marks Arizona’s third in the last three seasons, and its first since February, 2011.

Copyright © Go Golf Arizona