PGA Professionals Re Capture The Gibson Cup

For the 16th consecutive year, the top Southern Chapter Southwest Section PGA club professionals and the AGA Southern Arizona amateurs competed against each other in the Gibson Cup matches, a match play format promoting competition between the associations seeing who has the better team for the year. The La Paloma CC was host of this year’s annual event.

The first day format was a Four Ball competition, with two players from each team paired together playing their best ball against the other team. The final round matches were single matches. The scoring was based on a point system, (1) point for the low front nine, (1) point for the low back nine, and (1) point for the overall low eighteen hole total.

During the first round team matches the professionals just could not get anything going, as the amateurs continued to win point after point. After the first round, it appeared the amateurs were distended to win the Cup for the 5th straight year after opening a big lead, scoring (13 ½) points to the professionals (4 ½) taking a (9) point advantage into the final single round matches.

The first team that reached the total of (27) points would win the bragging rights for the year. With twelve single matches equal to (36) points, it did not give the professionals much wiggle room to lose any matches.

In the final round as each group turned from the front nine the professionals seemed to have brought their “A” game, as they turned the moment in their favor winning (9) of the (12) matches. Although, still having to win the majority of the back nine matches to re-capture the Cup.

In a earlier crucial senior match, professional Wade Dunagan won all (3) points over Craig Bauley to close in on the amateurs lead. Chris Dompier, the 2010 Southern Chapter PGA player of the year from Skyline CC, closed the gap even further sweeping (3) points from amateur Gabby Bobroski. This allowed the 2010 Southwest Section PGA Champion Brandon Smith to record the winning points by defeating the AGA team captain Cyrus Whitney (2) to (1) posting the needed (28) points to the amateurs (26) points to win. However, in the last match of the day, amateur Tom Sweigart thought if he made a birdie on the last hole, he would sweep (3) points against professional Glen Griffith and would probably win the Cup for the team. As he proceeded to roll in his 10 foot birdie and win his match, he shortly found out that they fell (1) point short of retaining the Cup.

The name “Gibson Cup” is in honor of long time local PGA club professional and UofA Golf coach, John Gibson.

The overall record stands at ten wins for the Southern Chapter Southwest Section PGA Professionals, and six wins for the Arizona Golf Associations Southern Arizona Amateurs.

Copyright © Go Golf Arizona