Club Professionals Winning Streak Continues

The 51st Annual Goldwater Cup matches hosted by the Desert Forest Golf Club in Scottsdale, AZ had the Southwest Section of the PGA club professionals competing against the top-ranked amateurs from the Arizona Golf Association.

The annual matches promote friendly competition and camaraderie between the two associations, but also a high level of competition between the club professionals and the amateur golfers.

The history of the event is a two-day format with team competition the first day followed by individual matches the second day. After their most-recent victory, the club professionals now lead the series with 37 wins to the Amateurs 14. The club professionals prevailed in the senior division as well, winning 16-14. The senior professionals lead their series 25-10-3.

Members of the winning club professional team in the Open division included; Greg Avant, Jeff Yurkiewicz, Blayne Hobbs, Marty Jertson, Don Littrel, Michael Hopper, Dennis Downs, Brandon Smith, Rich Elias, Joe Penaflor, Chris Dompier and Paul Nolen.

Mike Malaska, 2011 National PGA teacher of the year, lead the senior division to victory. Malaksa’s teammates included; Jon Chaffee, Randy Wittig, Earl Svenningsen, Jon Stanley, Terry Carlson, Mike Franko, Dave Simm, Greg Ellis, Greg Harmon, Bob Pancratz and Will Frantz.

This historic event is named after the late Bob Goldwater SR. a former state amateur champion and member of the Arizona golf hall of fame, who is known as the father of the Phoenix (Waste Management) Open.

Copyright © Go Golf Arizona