2011 Southern Chapter PGA Award Winners

The Southern Chapter PGA Announces the 2011 Award winners for Teacher of the Year, Assistant Professional of the Year, Junior Golf Leader of the Year, Player of the Year, Dell Urich Award and Senior Player of the Year.

Southern Chapter PGA Teacher of the Year

Annually awarded to the teacher who initiates and implements innovative teaching programs, publishes golf articles and excels at teaching at his or her facility. This award goes to teachers whoexcel at teaching golf. The Southern Chapter has proven that we have some exceptionally talented teachers in our Chapter. The 2011 Teacher of the Year Dan Wickman is the Director of Instruction for all five city golf courses. His duties include promoting local programs and teaching the game of golf. One of Wickman’s students says, “He has the ability to teach and work with you as an individual to improve your game.” He hosts a weekly radio show, publishes articles in the Southern Arizona Tee Time magazine. He also teaches golf classes for the University of Arizona and serves on the advisory board of the Sports Management Program at the Eller College of Management.

Southern Chapter PGA Assistant Professional of the Year

The award is given based on overall performance at his or her facility, service to the Southern Chapter, the Southwest Section and the Association as a whole. Leadership, image and the ability to inspire golf professionals are also considered. It’s safe to say that the Awards Committee had its hands full with so many worthy candidates. In the end, it was his commitment to junior golf, the effort he puts into the operation at Randolph Golf Complex, and his commitment to the PGA of America that made Joe DelVecchio this year’s winner.

Junior Golf Leader of the Year

This gentleman has made a commitment to support Junior Golf. Whether it’s fund-raising for Ricki Rarick Junior golf, hosting the bi-annual junior golf fundraiser at Tubac Golf Resort or volunteering as the Southern Chapter PGA Junior Golf Committee Chairman, he has made junior golf a lifetime priority. A product of Ricki Rarick himself, this year’s award went to Dennis Palmer, Vice President of Golf Operations at Tubac Golf Resort.

Player of the Year

An accumulation of participation points based on performance from the different tournament events throughout the year determines the Player of the Year award. Due to his consistent play, without winning a major event this year, the award goes to Ventana Canyon Head Professional Brandon Smith.

Dell Urich Award

The award is given to the player with the lowest stroke average in tournament play. This award is typically not decided until after the final event of the year’s Chapter Championship, and this year was no exception coming, down to the final round of the Chapter Championship. With a stroke average of 69.22 in tournament play, the award went to Brandon Smith from Ventana Canyon.

Southern Chapter PGA Senior Player of the Year

He is no longer a rookie this year and went on to defend his title as the Senior Southern Chapter PGA Championship. With his solid and steady play during the year earned Wade Dunagan representing High Definition Golf the title for the second year in a row.

Copyright © Go Golf Arizona